Honda TRX250R Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know its possible for me to get alot of different answers, but I'm brand new to the 250R world and I just bought an R yesterday...I wanna change all fluids etc...what trans / gear oil do you guys recommend and why? Thanks

·
Registered
64 Posts
Well I was a Amsoil Dealer in the past so I say it can go either way. Use a Honda like 80 gear oil or the 0w40 Atv oil works great. Really personal preference but just stay away from the $1.99 a qt walmart stuff

·
Registered
227 Posts
Honda hp is the way to go black bottal and it says 80-85 weight. Says right on the back made for cr and trx engines

Reactions: goonmx22

·
Registered
80 Posts
I run Amsoil in mine.. Its a lil pricey,but all oil is in 2013.. Lol.. I was gonna run the Honda Gear lube but it wasn't available locally .. So whatever u want as long as its a gearbox type of lubricant.. Happy riding on your New R!!!

·
Premium Member
1,369 Posts
Sorry DFresh, I meant to reply to this thread but I got to reading through the one that Big_Mike posted above and replied to it by mistake.

·
Registered
989 Posts
Well I was a Amsoil Dealer in the past so I say it can go either way. Use a Honda like 80 gear oil or the 0w40 Atv oil works great. Really personal preference but just stay away from the $1.99 a qt walmart stuff
except if its shell rotella from walmart, for 1.99 a quart GREAT oil for clutches

the best oil is only good if its clean, it doesn't matter which oil you use if its dirty its bad oil!!!

·
Premium Member
1,369 Posts
except if its shell rotella from walmart, for 1.99 a quart GREAT oil for clutches

the best oil is only good if its clean, it doesn't matter which oil you use if its dirty its bad oil!!!