Honda TRX250R Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well i finally had the chance to buy a 250r three wheeler! been wanting one for the longest time. i am pretty sure it is an 86. the guy i got it from wasn't sure and there's no sticker on the frame to verify it.

i've never had a 2 stroke before so i'm new to the whole tuning thing. i was told that it has recently been rebuilt. it starts fine, usually within a kick or two. once it gets warmed up and i shut it off and then go to start it again it doesn't like to start. i mean it will as long as i give it a little gas while kicking it. wondering if you guys could help me out on fixing this. it did foul a plug last weekend so i think it might be running a little rich. the plug was black when i pulled it out. i am mixing the gas 20:1 with castor 927. i used 91 octane pump gas but i recently heard not to use it. before i replaced the plug i tore apart the carb just to check it out. it's got a 160 main jet and a 62 pilot jet. thinking out trying some re-jetting to see if i can lean it out. pretty sure it also has aftermarket reeds. no airbox with what looks to be a ESR filter?

any input on what to try to resolve the warm staring problem would be great! thanks to anyone who helps!!

IMG_4331.jpg IMG_7868.jpg IMG_7339.jpg IMG_0085.jpg IMG_0298.jpg

·
Registered
640 Posts
Pilot jet sounds a bit big and also your a bit rich on your fuel mix. I think the average mix people use is 32:1 Looks like you have a nice machine there and you can find a lot of info here on the forum..

Welcome to site Buddha!!!!

·
Registered
263 Posts