Honda TRX250R Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys this isn't about my R model but my 86 -250 Fourtrax , I figure the setup cant be much different then the R models .

So here's my Problem Family Four wheeler has been sitting in the wood shed for like 8 years without running , The battery is shot so Ive been hooking the Jumper pack cables right to the battery wires , When I do so the ignition light does come on and when the electric start is pressed it makes an attempt to start but it sounds like the starter is grinding on something ? . Somebody recommended that I test the solenoid with a volt meter to see if that's whats going wrong , But I'm no electrician!

So I checked the solenoid with the volt meter and it reads 11.83 volts not running , and when I try to start it the volt meter is all over the place and wont give a steady reading . So would that be a bad selonoid or am I doing something wrong , The starter has to be getting power or else it wouldn't be making that grinding noise ? or would it ?

Any ideas ? Flat out replace the starter ? I'm lost at this point !

·
Registered
989 Posts
11.83 volts isn't enough to charge the battery, for your quad to start you should have at least 13 volts,
don't forget the reg/rec and all the wiring has a good size voltage drop ....

I would start with a new battery, fresh fuel, clean carb and make sure no animals in the intake or exhaust,
check the plug and make sure no rust on the tip, replace plug, clean all your connections, check your oil and change it along with filter
and make sure it turns over smooth before trying to start,

then give it a try

·
Registered
30 Posts
I agree a fresh battery would be a good start. And to know if the engine will turn over you can spary some starter fluid directly to the intake of the carb. Another thing about the grinding sound it could also be the a broken gear set that causes the noise.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5