Honda TRX250R Forums banner

Same topic --- powder coat - or ---" baked enamel

4K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  douglas 
#1 ·
a lot has been posted pc vs paint. what about BAKED ENAMEL ? My banshee is powder coated 2 years later its time to do it over. it obviously was not done correctly. years back i worked as a millwright maintenace mechanic in a sheet metal fabrication company that had 2 overhead track assembly line paint systems. Parts were hung washed dryed sprayed then through the oven they went. At the end of the line removed then packaged and shiped. this was a large production plant. I recall it to be very durable on steel metal shelving. I have draft plans to build my own oven to at a cost about $ 350. I've seen enough pc bikes around that look awesome and there pc on ther bikes are holding up just fine.
I'm lucky enough to have other bikes
09 kfx 450
08 ltr 450
08 yfz 450
01 banshee
all 450s bb modded. banshee 4mil herrjugs build. vp kills me every time i ride. thats the price of fun. So as i continue along as with any builds revamping re pc or paint is a constant. So i can build an oven or pay the powder coater guy. also in thought touch up along the way and stripping parts for new paint or pc. I have a blast cabinet and also a commercial sandblaster. Weighing the coast for the future stripping pc chemicaly sucks. My new build that i've been assembling parts for over 1 yr is an 87 250r. In the process of gussetting the frame then its time to ?
POWDER COAT OR BAKED ENAMEL ?
Pumashine, Carlos, 250r nation any input on your experiences. I know what the results on just painting my parts would be with out baking the paint.

See less See more
#2 ·